The Arsenal: Part 1

Written By: LeSashea Feagin, CWP Guest Blogger

 

In my quest to manage Kitchen Anxiety Disorder, I have an arsenal of tools that just make it easier to get into the kitchen, whip up a meal, and be out in 45 minutes. I don’t have a favorite. I love them all equally.

1: My slow cooker

Displaying 027.jpg

This thing is heaven sent. Did you know it’s nearly impossible to burn stuff in here? I say nearly because I have done it before. That was The Chili Incident of 2011. I am still not ready to talk about it. But this slow cooker has a timer. That means I can put the food in there, walk away forever, and it will only be on “warm” once the cooking is complete. Magic, I say!

 

 

 

Q: The freezer

I have taken to buying items in bulk. It’s cheaper, better for the environment… let me stop. The main concern is cost. If I buy ten pounds of chicken breasts and split them into meal sized portions before I freeze them, I save money. Another benefit of the freezer is all those crock pot soups and stews that are so delicious the first time around get to be stored in there to eat again later on. This brings me directly to my next weapon.

 

Tap Shoes: Ziploc bags

Magic. Elven princesses use these things to store their magic sparkle dust. No joke. These things rock my socks. If I make too much of a stew or beans, I can put the cooled dish into one of these bags, store it flat in the bottom of my freezer until it hardens, and then sit it upright like a book until I’m ready to eat that again. Be. Still. My. Heart. Also, the sandwich baggies make great portion control helpers. I sometimes freeze individual servings of grapes.

 

Unicorn: The rice cooker

It is totally possible to burn things in here even though it claims to switch to “warm” once the rice is cooked. Yes, I learned this by experience also. Thank you for bringing up difficult memories. But, so long as I have the right ratio of rice to water or broth, I have rice. I have been experimenting with other uses for this weapon. The last experiment was basmati rice, which is the choice grain of Hindu gods I’m certain. I am getting around to quinoa, brown rice, jasmine rice, and oats.

 

I have more. Weaponry that is. My KAD does not allow me to stand over a stove or stove-like object for more than 5 to 10 minutes at a time. However, this list is long enough for right now. Next week, I’ll show you how my slow cooker and rice cooker work together to keep me out the kitchen. I have a recipe I want to try out, and you all get to come along for the ride. I don’t think I can mess it up. It’s super easy to throw things into a container and push buttons. But, knowing my history, I will never underestimate my ability to burn a dinner.

 

See you in seven days.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About cookingwithpatt

Cooking With Patt is a site created to further her dream of publishing and sharing her recipes with the world. Patricia passed away three years ago but her torch was taken over by daughter, Donnee Padgett-Harris, the 7th of her 9 children.

Leave a Reply

DON'T ANNOY THE CRAZY WRITER

The Delusions of Donnee Patrese

Live, Nerd, Repeat

Making life better through the perfect application of humor and nerdery

The Moonlight Baker

It all started with a midnight brownie...

A Sweeter Thing

Good Food from the Midwest and much, much more!

DON'T ANNOY THE CRAZY WRITER

The Delusions of Donnee Patrese

Live, Nerd, Repeat

Making life better through the perfect application of humor and nerdery

The Moonlight Baker

It all started with a midnight brownie...

A Sweeter Thing

Good Food from the Midwest and much, much more!

